deutsch

Repairs and Restorations

A delicate matter at times. Of course any lutemaker will accept instruments of his own making for repairs - after all he knows how everything has been done. But with instruments made by other luthiers, not knowing which techniques have been employed, one may face difficulties that can make you quite desperate. Mostly it's modern glue or unhistorical timber joints that cause problems, but by the time you notice these, the instrument MUSICK'S MONUMENT, THOMAS MACEoften is in a condition where the working process cannot be reversed any more nor the lute be returned to the owner. Then you just have to go on and hope that the customer is familiar with Thomas Mace's book "MUSICK'S MONUMENT", where he may have learned that only with a lot of luck a lute need not be opened for repair more than once in a year or two, and how to mend it with assistance from the village's carpenter.

Considering the time a lute like the famous Hans Frei was actually used in, undergoing numerous changes and adaptions to new epoques' requirements, one can imagine quite an amount of repairs. You might wonder why zip fasteners had not been invented back then. A different focus and tolerance concerning traces of working procedures, aging and repairs may be a hint towards possible answers. Artisans did not have to compete with the cool precision of computer-controlled production, manual labour did not have to justify itself and its inherent humane imperfection.

But however - if you visit a museum with eyes open, in every field of the crafts you'll see things that in today's views seem hard to accept. This does not imply craftsmen of the past worked better or worse than their counterparts of our day - the way of looking at things was different. I personally prefer the jagged traces of frame saws on the back of baroque furniture to todays cardboard with imprinted decoration concealing everything.

I don't want to argue for bad, negligent work. The decision, whether you allow traces of working processes to show or try to comply with the modern aesthetics of precision always is a tightrope walk. The question is one of accepting a different view on perfection as a stylistic device in your work. We all try to have authenticity in our work, you as a musician, me as a maker of instruments. Maybe all of us could benefit from a certain amount of laissez-faire.

Hieronymus Bosch, detail

At any rate I am always happy when a major repair has been accomplished, the structure of the instrument is restored, the action is comfortable for the player, no annoying noises are produced and it can be played again. Working carefully on the basis of ones experience can help to minimise visible traces of repairs, but in the end they will always be detectable.

Of course you can ask for a repair of any plucked instrument. We'll take a look at it together and decide how to proceed. Prices for repairs cannot be given here - all cases are different and in the end a lot depends on whether it is just the function of an instrument that should be restored or whether nothing should be visible of the mending afterwards.

impressum

english

Reparaturen und Restaurierungen

Ein mitunter heikles Thema. Natürlich nimmt man eigene Instrumente zu Reparaturen an, schließlich weiß man ja wie sie gemacht sind. Mit Instrumenten, bei denen die Arbeitstechniken des Erbauers unbekannt sind, treten allerdings des öfteren Komplikationen auf, die einen an den Rand der Verzweiflung treiben können. Meist sind moderner Leim oder unhistorische Verbindungstechniken das Problem. Bis man das aber festgestellt hat, MUSICK'S MONUMENT, THOMAS MACEist das Instrument schon in einem Zustand, in dem man es nicht zurück geben kann. Da muß man dann durch und kann nur hoffen, dass der Kunde das Buch "MUSICK'S MONUMENT" von Thomas Mace kennt. Hier erfährt man, dass nur mit viel Glück die Laute nicht öfter als alle ein- bis zwei Jahre geöffnet werden musste, und wie man mit Hilfe des Dorfschreiners das Instrument wieder herrichtet.

Bei der Nutzungsdauer einer Laute wie z.B. der von Hans Frei, die immer wieder umgebaut und an die neuen Anforderungen angepaßt wurde, kommt schon so einiges an Reparaturen zusammen. Man fragt sich irgendwann, warum der Reißverschluß nicht damals schon erfunden worden ist. Eine Antwort darauf ist vielleicht ein anderer Fokus und größere Toleranz den Arbeits-, Alterungs- und Reparaturspuren gegenüber. Die Handwerker hatten auch noch nicht die Konkurrenz der kühlen Genauigkeit computergesteuerter Maschinen. Handarbeit musste sich noch nicht rechtfertigen.

Doch wie auch immer. Wer mit offenen Augen durch die Museen geht, wird in allen Bereichen des Handwerks bei genauerem Hinschauen Dinge sehen, die aus heutiger Sicht nicht akzepziert würden. Es geht dabei nicht darum, ob die Handwerker vergangener Zeiten besser oder schlechter gearbeitet haben, der Blick auf die Dinge war ein anderer. Mir allerdings gefallen die rohen Spuren der Gattersägen auf der Rückseite barocker Möbel und die Fugen in den Intarsien besser, als die Pappplatten und aufgedruckten Dekore der heutigen Zeit.

Ich will damit nicht für schlechte, schlampige Arbeit sprechen. Es ist immer wieder eine Gratwanderung, ob man seine Arbeitsspuren stehen läßt oder sich dem Diktat moderner Präzisision unterordnet. Entscheidend ist, ob man die andere Sichtweise auf Qualität als Stilmittel begreift und in der eigenen Arbeit zuläßt. Wir versuchen unseren Bereich "authentisch" zu gestalten, Sie als Spieler, ich als Instrumentenbauer. Vielleicht gehört dazu auch ein wenig mehr "Laissez-faire".

Hieronymus Bosch, Detail

Jedenfalls bin ich immer wieder froh, wenn nach einer größeren Reparatur die Struktur des Instrumentes wieder hergestellt und die Saitenlage bequem ist, nichts mehr knarzt und wieder gespielt werden kann. Durch vorsichtiges Arbeiten und Erfahrung kann man die Spuren der Arbeit gering halten, zu sehen sind sie letzlich immer.

Sie können selbstverständlich alles was Saiten hat und gezupft wird, bei mir zur Reparatur abgeben. Wir schauen uns Ihr Instrument gemeinsam an und entscheiden wie es weiter geht. Preise für Reparaturen kann ich an dieser Stelle nicht angeben. Jeder Schaden ist anders und letztlich kommt es auch darauf an, ob nur die Funktion wieder hergestellt werden soll oder die Reparatur, soweit es möglich ist, nicht mehr sichtbar sein soll.

impressum